In the early seventeenth century Ulster, the northern province of Ireland, witnessed huge changes as a result of various waves of settlement and schemes of colonisation.

Many migrants came to the settlements in north-east County Down encouraged by two Ayrshire Scots Sir James Hamilton and Sir Hugh Montgomery from 1606 onwards. Others settled in County Antrim on the lands of the MacDonnells and others such as Sir Arthur Chichester, Hugh Clotworthy and Fulke Conway.

The most far-reaching of scheme was the Plantation of Ulster. Over two years in planning, the Plantation came to embrace six counties in Ulster – Armagh, Cavan, Coleraine (renamed Londonderry in 1613), Donegal, Fermanagh and Tyrone (collectively known as the escheated counties).

This website contains information, resources and links that will help you understand more about the Ulster Plantation.

This site is still being developed and we hope to add new information and links on an ongoing basis.